R.I.P., Davey Jones

I remember, a million years ago when I was a tween but before we said the word “tween”, I subscribed to the teen magazine “YM” (short for “young miss”, then “young & modern”, then whatever), and they mocked Davey Jones in an article. His daughter, who I think was named Sarah, wrote a letter to the editor saying that Davey Jones was her dad and that it was mean to make fun of him. It was strange to me, this famous person who had a kid who read YM like me; a real person with a real dad.

I’m sorry about your dad, Sarah.

Leave a Reply

