Finally Grown-up! Sort of.

Today is St. Patrick’s Day, a day that for me always seems to mark a sort of bittersweet looking back and remarking on how different my life is than it used to be. I think back to when I was in college and half-stumbling around Cleveland with my dearest friends, winning Guinness-chugging contests at 6am and stealing life-sized jointed leprechauns from bars so I could hang them up in my apartment. I look back, and then I look at now and think about how different things are, how long ago that seems, how much I’d like to take a brief vacation in that time so I could revisit it, again.

But I forgot to do that today, until I remembered just now, at almost 2pm. And I’m still not really looking back so much as I am remembering looking back.

That first St. Patrick’s Day in Cleveland was 13 years ago, now. That’s mind-blowing to me, that something that happened to me during my adulthood could have happened 13 years ago. But there is is, 13 years are gone and here I am.

I dressed Juniper in a green dress today, and she struggled because she is going through this stage where she DOES NOT WANT TO HOLD STILL for anything, whether it’s a diaper change or a snack or an episode of “Sesame Street”. Bryce chose a green shirt himself, a dark-and-acid-green-striped one that clashes nicely with his blue and red plaid pants. I remembered to wear my green sweater, and I own many more green options than I did back in the day. When Juniper wakes up from her nap, we’re heading over to my friend’s house for a St. Patrick’s Day playdate, complete with jello jigglers and Irish Beef Stew. It’s St. Patrick’s Day, and that means something different now than it used to for me.

And mostly, that’s Ok.

Leave a Reply

