Haters Gon’ Hate

I stir up trouble sometimes, I do.

I kind of like it.

This will come to a surprise to exactly no one who actually knows me, and probably not many people who don’t know me, as well. Mostly because, frankly, most of us kind-of sort-of get off on some degree of stirring up trouble.

Not to say, trolling. Or shitty stuff like that. More…going forward with something that you recognize will inspire backlash or annoyance or butthurtness or pursed-lip-expressions.

Yep. That’s going on my tombstone. Inspirer of Pursed-Lip Expressions!

But, yeah. Trouble. I stir it up.

I belong to this Facebook group (I know, I know, you stopped reading THERE) that is for a community of people trying to lose weight. Many/most of them had VSG surgery. And it’s populated by, as you can imagine, a pretty wide swath of the populace. (Hee!) And it’s verrrrry interesting to see what kind of nonsensical crap different people of differing educational levels in different parts of the country are recommended/TOLD to do by their different health professionals. But hell, that’s a topic rich enough for another day.

I digress.

What has stood out to me, as I mostly ignore it but sometimes notice what people say, is that there are a whole lot of people who have seemingly traded in one psychological issue (food addiction?) for another (food restriction). And those people are NOT shy about pushing their superiority and judgement on others, as misguided and fraught with unhealth as they may be. (Is “unhealth” a word? Because it’s underlined in red. But I feel like it should be a word. IT IS NOW A WORD.) What’s sad is that these people are so often obviously suffering from what is pretty obviously very disordered eating. They certainly shouldn’t be advocating that other people adhere to their lifestyles. And what’s sadder than that is that there are plenty of people out there who could really benefit from bariatric surgery (not that everyone could/should–that some people are THERE. Or should be there.) who probably dismiss it entirely because they come across so many food nazis who give them the impression that everyone who has bariatric surgery spends the rest of their lives living in miserable deprivation, eating only xyz grams of lean protein per day, supplemented by a few ounces of approved vegetables. Ummm, no. And that wouldn’t be healthy. Or normal. Or OK, for chrissakes.

Anyway, these people drive me nuts. Don’t spew your crap all over everyone, mmkay? It’s not cool. So I sort of posted something sort of thumby-nose at them…punctuated by a “take that, haters and food nazis!”.

Heh.

Well, actually, most of them left me alone. I just attracted one holier-than-though food nazi, who seemed to be under the mistaken impression that she is the only person who has the intelligence or wherewithal to navigate things. Sigh. Luckily, I consistently shut her down (nicely, mais of course!) with my brilliantly-written prose. GOOD THING I’M FUCKING BRILLIANT.

Leave a Reply

